Reading Roundup for March

I can’t believe it’s already been another month! March was filled with some good reads, and a bunch of books I had to put by without finishing. To make it to my reading roundup, I had to have finished and enjoyed the book. All these books I gave 4 or 5 stars. They are listed from top to bottom by how much I enjoyed them.

Fire Touched

#1: FIRE TOUCHED by Patricia Briggs

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Worldview: Secular

PROS

  • This is one of my favorite series of all time. I love the way Patricia Briggs incorporates folklore and mythology into a modern setting and makes it so believable.
  • After 9 books, you would think things would start to grow stale, but they don’t. Each offering is fresh and fun with new challenges for well-established characters.
  • There are always new characters too, and one of the brilliant things the author does is make you wonder about the stories behind the new characters. I’m guessing I know what/who the next book will be about. ;).

CONS

  • While the woman reading the audiobook was fabulous with voices, she didn’t sound like Mercy to me. I got used to it though. She really is quite talented.

 

Liberation

#2: THE LIBERATION by Marissa Shrock

Genre: Dystopian, YA

Worldview: Christian

PROS

  • I really, really enjoy this series.
  • The Christianity is overt, but the questions it raises aren’t the trite ones. In this book, Vivica struggles with trusting God. Believing He is good even when things seem rotten. Believing that He has a plan, that He cares, and that He’s sovereign. Add that to an interesting premise, great writing, and seat-of-the-pants suspense, and you’ve got a book I couldn’t put down. I read the whole thing in one day. 🙂

CONS

  • That I have to wait for the next book in the series to come out. (Yes, I’m whining).
  • I couldn’t help but wonder why they didn’t use DNA as a means to ID people. They had chips, retinal scans, nanobots… all cool tech but I kept thinking, what about the DNA? (genetics geek over here).

 

The 100

#3: THE 100 by Kass Morgan

Genre: Futuristic, post-apocalyptic YA

Worldview: Secular, clean

PROS

  • I picked up the series because my husband and I really like the TV show. The story lines are similar but different enough to keep the story fresh. Some of the characters are different as well.
  • Fresh idea.
  • Great use of flashbacks.

CONS

  • The TV show does a bit better with believability.
  • This is a 3 book series. While I really enjoyed this one, and the next, I found the third one lacking.

 

Al Capone Does My Shirts

#4: AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS by Gennifer Choldenko

Genre: Middle-grade

Worldview: Secular, clean

PROS

  • Interesting insight into history. Who wouldn’t like learning about the famous prison Alcatraz and the infamous gangster Al Capone?
  • The story is not so much about Al Capone as it is about the main character, Moose, and his autistic older sister in a time before autism was known.
  • Moose is a great character and I found the story captivating.

CONS

  • The beginning of the book had a little bit of language. Not *bad* language, but what I would consider questionable for 4th graders. I think it was meant to hook younger readers. For the rest of the book it went away so the beginning made it feel gratuitous.
  • I read this with a 4th grade book club. Even though the kids were all readers, the story was little bit beyond them.

 

Neptune Challenge

#5: THE NEPTUNE CHALLENGE by Polly Holyoke

Genre: YA

Worldview: Secular, clean

PROS

  • I really, really liked the first book in this series. The mermaid premise is interesting and the second book allows us to learn more about the world.
  • I liked the complexity of the “bad” characters. Once you get to know them, some of them aren’t as bad as they seem.

CONS

  • Slow start. Once we got into the heart of the novel, I enjoyed it. 

 

 Unhappenings

#6: UNHAPPENINGS by Edward Aubry

Genre: Science Fiction (Time Travel)

Worldview: Secular, clean

PROS

  • I love time travel stories. As this one goes, it is very interesting and keeps you guessing until the end.
  • Interesting moral dilemmas.
    .

CONS

  • I didn’t find the science part behind the time travel as believable as some time travel stories – lots of technical questions remain unresolved.
  • Ended the book feeling dissatisfied. I would have rated it much higher, except for this.

 

Jackalope PB

Honorable Mention:

JACKALOPE by Janet Stevens & Susan Stevens Crummel

Genre: Children’s

Worldview: Secular, clean

PROS

  • Cute, clever. Teaches moral lessons about wanting what you don’t have, ignoring consequences, and lying.

CONS

  • Lost a little of the appeal in the Kindle format because of the text to picture issues. I think that’s more of a problem with picture books on Kindle than this particular picture book.

 

 

NOW YOU: WHAT WAS YOUR BEST READ OF MARCH?

3 thoughts on “Reading Roundup for March

  1. You always read such interesting sounding books!
    😦 All I’ve had time for lately is snippets of Sailor Moon manga. And I’m only reading them because the munchkin loves them & I want to know what she is reading plus be able to talk with her about them since she loves them. Oh! I did finish Maximum Ride – I need to review it once we get settled but I can see why it is very popular with the younger-YA crowd. It’s pretty MG level in the barely a hint of romance, loads of adventure, not always thinking very logically/maturely way. It was interesting enough I’ll be looking for the others later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

