The Secret Life of Katie Clark

Katie ClarkKATIE CLARK started reading fantastical stories in grade school and her love for books never died. Today she reads in all genres; her only requirement is an awesome story! She writes young adult speculative fiction, including her upcoming YA supernatural, Shadowed Eden. You can connect with her at her website, on Facebook, or on Twitter.

I met Katie when he dystopian trilogy was releasing. Sometimes dystopian fiction all runs together for me, but there were aspects of Katie’s stories that still swirl in my brain.The main character’s mother’s sickness, for one. I think I’d like to go back and read the series again.  

Enslaved banenr

I’m pleased to host Katie on the blog today and can’t wait for you to get to know her secrets…

Besides writing, what is your secret passion?

OK, this is a little embarrassing, depending on who I’m talking to, but…I am a Disney fanatic. I don’t mean that I like watching Disney movies and visiting Disney World. I mean that I spend big bucks on Disney World guide books, I obsessively “pin” Disney stuff on Pinterest, I can tell you just about anything about every Disney movie ever made, and I am ALWAYS in the process of planning another Disney vacation (even if it’s all just a pipe dream). Yes, I am a Disney-aholic. I am not ashamed.

DSCN0124

What do you find most interesting about Disney?

Everything! I love the magic and fantasy, but there’s more than that. I love the feeling of childhood wander. I love the lighting around the Disney parks (did I just say I loved the lighting? Yeah, I might be a bit odd). I even love Walt Disney’s life story.

I actually program lights for our church, so appreciate that you love the lights. It’s fun to make them dance, or place beams just so, or use color to accentuate things. I’ve only been to Disney (World) once, but it was a magical place. Partly because it was so clean, and partly because they have moving a lot of people around down to a science.

What are some common misconceptions people have about Disney?

So many people think Disney is only for kids. It’s totally not! (can I just say, “Nanny nanny boo boo”?)

Give us the skinny – what are some interesting facts about Disney that most people don’t know?

Oooo, you mean I get to show off my Disney knowledge? OK, let’s see. The characters at Disney World will carry on full blown conversations with you—as their characters. You want to tell Gaston how self-absorbed he is? He will totally flirt with you (but not in a creepy way). Want to ask Belle about her favorite book? She’ll happily tell you all about it!

DSCN0311

And there’s more! Disney’s Animal Kingdom has a roller coaster called Expedition Everest that has been called one of the best roller coasters in the country. And at Disney’s Epcot you can taste Coca Cola from around the world—for free!

But the history of Disney is so much richer than just the Disney parks. Walt Disney’s story is truly fascinating (at least to me!).

Yep, you’re a fangirl all right. 😉 How do you balance writing, Disney, and your private life?

Now, that is where my *love* for Disney does get embarrassing. There are times I have to FORCE myself to stop searching out Disney World deals and get back to writing. I’m like a kid with a video game when it comes to Disney.

DSCN0236

Does your obsession ever sneak into your writing?

Sadly, no. Disney has no place in my own fantastic tales. Sigh.

Maybe one day. Try wishing on a star. 😉

Katie Clark disguise

Thanks for sharing with us today, Katie! I’ve got Shadowed Eden all cued up on my kindle and ready to read.

ShadowedEden_ws11813_750Avery Miles is ready to spread her wings and prove her worth on a church mission trip to Iraq, but when their entourage gets blown off course in a desert dust storm, the group is lost in an inexplicable garden oasis. Along with the luscious fruits and crystal springs, Avery and her friends find poisonous snakes, deadly sink holes, and a group of natives that are almost unearthly–but that’s not their biggest problem. No matter which way they trek, they can’t seem to leave.

 To keep the group safe, Avery steps up and takes charge, but it isn’t long before she realizes things aren’t as they seem. She isn’t the only one seeing the mysterious boy named Rae, and she’s pretty sure her father is sabotaging her rescue efforts. Gathering her courage, Avery must decide what’s most important to her–finally winning her father’s approval, or getting out of the jungle for good.

NOW YOU: Have you ever been to a Disney theme park? What did you think? 

4 thoughts on “The Secret Life of Katie Clark

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve been to Disney but I always loved our visits when my family went every few years as I was growing up (Florida girl here). Except the food prices – we never ate there except for a soft pretzel and one bottle of gatorade each that we would refill at water fountains all day. We’re hoping for a Disney Christmas in a few years if we can ever save up for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

