My (not so secret) love affair

I like to read. A lot.

I like the texture of books and their aroma. I like the feelings libraries and bookstores evoke – peace, possibility, and luxury. I enjoy the crispy sound of turning pages.

I even like e-readers: the way I can carry hundreds of ebooks with me wherever I go. The fact that they don’t fatigue my fingers or weigh as much as hardback novels. The fact that sometimes I try to turn their pages because I’m so lost in the story.

I love listening to stories while driving in the car, especially when read by someone who adds another dimension to the stories themselves. Narrators such as Jim Dale (Harry Potter series and The Night Circus) and Will Patton (The Raven boys series).

I love the way different authors string words and ideas together to create strange and sometimes impossible worlds. Scenarios larger than life. What ifs I don’t have to live to experience.

And I love data and keeping track of things, too. So…

I’m trying something new. I have been challenged to find an original way to review books. In answer, I’ve come up with Tiered Books in Review. 🙂

This system will make me keep track of what I’ve read each month and then create a pyramid of sorts for the books. My favorite goes on the top tier, then tier 2 are other five-star reviews, tier 3 are 4-star, etc. Here is October’s Tier:

October's Tier

TOP TIER:

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater – Urban Fantasy

Oh my. The writing. NO ONE writes like Maggie Stiefvater.

Despite the profanity (lots) and the subject (fortune telling, future divination), this urban fantasy is amazing. Three books into the series and I don’t want it to stop (but I do want to read the next one!!)

Fantastically complex characters and plot. I “read” this one in audio book and the narrator,Will Patton, does a tremendous job. His voices add another dimension to the characters and story.

2nd Tier:

The Selection by Kiera Cass – YA/dystopian

I had this book forever but hadn’t read it. My daughter told me she loved it, so I went ahead and picked it up. Then I couldn’t put it down. Thoroughly enjoyed this Cinderella story.

Impervious by Heather Letto – YA/dystopian

3rd Tier:

The Hive by John Otte – Science Fiction

Girl, Stolen by April Henry – YA Contemporary

The Field by Lydia Thomas – Christian Allegory

4th Tier:

The Elite by Kiera Cass – YA/dystopian

The One by Kiera Cass – YA/dystopian

The Elite and The One are books 2 and 3 of The Selection series. I overall enjoyed them but got tired of the fickle love triangle and too convenient plot points.

NOW YOU: WHAT WAS YOUR TOP TIER READ FOR THE MONTH OF OCTOBER?

9 thoughts on “My (not so secret) love affair

  1. My top tier for October was The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. Can’t say it topped Neverwhere for me, but his writing in this is as incredible as ever.

    Like

  2. This is such a great idea! I’ve been ignoring The Selection forever because I judge books by their covers (shame, I know), but I recently had a friend strongly recommend it to me, so I might have to check it out! And The Field sounds… intriguing.

    Like

  3. Several of those are on my list so now i want to read them even more. But your reading puts me to shame! I think I read two books last month? No – three. And one of those was geared toward children and took less than an hour. But let’s just say Replication: the Jason Experiment was miles above A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade. I’m about ready to drop 90% of inspirational romance…

    Like

Leave a Reply

