Time to dicuss #7 – Glass Girl

glass girl cover

This book touched me when I read it because I identified so much with the main character. The death of a loved one is hard, whether you are a child or an adult.

Glass Girl is another in the line of issue driven fiction (like Whisper If You Have To, It’s Complicated, and The Wishing Pearl). Around this time last year, I had a chance to talk to the author about her book (feel free to read the interview).

I’m curious. How many of you were like me and experienced one of the issues covered in this book – death of a loved one, survivor’s guilt, an emotionally unstable parent – either as a teen or as an adult? Or maybe you knew someone who did?

And what did you think of Henry? In Glass Girl, he seems almost too good to be true, but we find out a lot more about him in the sequel, Perfect Glass, which is just as good. If you liked this one, you will like the second one.

That, my friends, is the end of our summer book club. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading these books and discussing them. Kat – thanks for sticking with me to the end. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your comments give me the encouragement I need to keep on blogging. โค

FINAL QUESTION: Which book was your favorite? (use poll below)

Books-in-the-set

5 thoughts on “Time to dicuss #7 – Glass Girl

  1. You want me to pick a favorite??! Ok, I’ll vote but it feels unfair! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I notice you haven’t voted yet, either! lol Honestly, this was a fantastic collection and I really enjoyed them all. And I appreciated this summer book club because it motivated me to actually do some real reading (aside from the copious research I’ve been doing for months and months). So thanks for getting my head out of special ed law and into some fun reading – I needed the fresh air.

    You already know my thoughts on Glass Girl – I think it’s one of the most power works of fiction I have ever read. And that’s coming from someone who hasn’t experienced the issues touched on in the book. Henry was a little too perfect, though I liked him a lot. I really need to read Perfect Glass. And the sequels to all the other books in the book club set!!

    Like

    1. I couldn’t vote until the post went live. And you’re right, it would have been easier for me to pick my least favorite than my favorite. In the end, I voted for the idea I wish I had come up with. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for being along for the ride. It’s hard (but not impossible) to have a discussion only with myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa, Sparks, Beth! My friends! Thanks so much for taking the time to read this collection and to stick with it through the final book. I admire your commitment to the book club / summer reading challenge. You guys are awesome. Thanks, too, for your kind thoughts on Glass Girl. I’m honored! Hope September treats you all well. Beth – I was reading some things on your blog yesterday. Well done! Love to you all — Laura

    Like

Leave a Reply

