Time to discuss By Darkness Hid

How did you do with your reading? I stayed up until 1 AM Sunday morning even though I had to be at church early, partly because I couldn’t tell how close I was to the end of the book – the downside of a 7 book set.

For me, I loved the book. As soon as we get through the summer reading, I’m heading back to read the rest!

erretsmaphighres
From http://jillwilliamson.com/maps/

I loved the concept of light/darkness. I liked Achan and Vrell equally well. One thing that bothered me with Vrell was how unaffected sheย was by her capture and journey. She seemed awfully content to go with the flow for a woman of her breeding.ย 

I was surprised by the vote of the counsel at the end. I didn’t see that coming. It always surprises me how corrupted power can make people. And I was a little disappointed that Achan didn’t learn that Vrell was a girl at the end. Wonder when that’s going to happen…

Now, let’s hear from you!ย Feel free to tackle any of the questions that strike your fancy either here or on my Facebook page.

1. What did you think of the book?

2. What did you like best about it- favorite character/line/scene, etc?

3. Was there anything that surprised you?

4. Was there anything left unresolved or anything you would have liked to have happened differently?

5. What was your reaction to Poril? Do you think he was beating Achan on orders or because that’s the kind of man he was?

6. What did you think about the land half in shadow and half in light? What about all the underground tunnels?

7. Whose POV did you like better? Achan’s or Vrell’s? Or did it matter?

8. Which characters do you want to learn more about in the rest of the series?

16 thoughts on “Time to discuss By Darkness Hid

  1. Hi! I’ve been to your blog a few times, and I saw you were discussing The Blood of Kings Trilogy and had to weigh in…it’s one of my favorites! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. What did you think of the book?
    – A little hard to feel deeply about at first, but by the end I was riveted. I was a little disgruntled that the ending didn’t tie off nicely, though.

    2. What did you like best about it- favorite character/line/scene, etc?
    – I really liked the bloodvoicing, and the fact that Vrell was in disguise as a boy the whole time.

    3. Was there anything that surprised you?
    – I can’t remember, as it’s been awhile. ๐Ÿ˜€

    4. Was there anything left unresolved or anything you would have liked to have happened differently?
    – I felt like the end of the book didn’t give us a sense of closure, like the 3 books were originally all one volume and it got chopped into 3 parts.

    5. What was your reaction to Poril? Do you think he was beating Achan on orders or because thatโ€™s the kind of man he was?
    – I think I just assumed that’s the kind of man he was.

    6. What did you think about the land half in shadow and half in light? What about all the underground tunnels?
    – Underground tunnels…? I guess I don’t remember that part! I need to read these again, hehe. I thought the concept of Darkness was interesting.

    7. Whose POV did you like better? Achanโ€™s or Vrellโ€™s? Or did it matter?
    – I think I liked Achan’s better, if only because Vrell didn’t make as much sense emotionally. But I found both of them enjoyable as protagonists.

    8. Which characters do you want to learn more about in the rest of the series?
    – I really only cared about Achan and Vrell. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Bethany! Thank you for stopping by and for commenting. It takes at least two to have a discussion, after all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Interesting that you don’t remember the tunnels. I kept expecting Vrell to use them to rescue Achan. And I remember Jill commenting that she had to add tunnels to a map, so I assumed they’d come up again in the series.

      I know what you meant about the lack of closure. I thought Vrell was going to stand up for Achan and they’d vote him in and the rest of the series would be about his struggles against the other faction. It still will be like that, but with him as the rightful but deposed king.

      Like

      1. That reminds me how disappointed I was in Achan for allowing Vrel to be dragged out while she begged him to stop it. But I was also disappointed she kept trying to see Levy in private instead of revealing herself instantly to everyone.

        Like

  2. Hi there! This is one of those books that’s been on my “I’d like to read it someday” list for ages, so I’m glad getting this set gave me the chance to finally read it! I enjoyed it a lot, but was a bit disappointed at the end. Maybe that was partly because I didn’t realize it was about to end, since it’s in the combo e-book set. I do think some groundwork was laid for some good threads/subplots to be continued — people realizing Vrell is a girl, Achan coming to terms with being the rightful king, creatures from Darkness coming into Light.

    I loved the tunnels! Thought that was a very cool aspect to the story. The idea of bloodvoicing was also interesting to me, especially how they could learn to control it well enough to communicate with some while blocking out others.

    I’m not sure what to think of Poril. I think for the most part he was just cruel because that’s how people treated strays, but it makes you wonder if part of it with Achan was because Poril was told to be that way. Then again, when Achan left, Poril seemed to actually have a bit of a heart. That was nice to see — because there’s always something good in everyone, even if it’s buried really deep.

    On to Whisper if You Have To now! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Finally back from my work conference and able to participate! I finished the book on the airplane today but I’ve had 12 hours to mull it over. I’m typing my thoughts before reading any of the other replies and then I’ll look at them, too.

    So… I really liked it. I want to read the next one now!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ lol. I wondered how it was going to wrap up at the end but once I realized where it was going, I was glad it ended the way and where it did. The opening with the fight in the barn was a bit drawn-out for my taste (there were a handful of scenes that I felt that way) but I’m betting those scenes are especially popular with the younger readers – wanting to imagine themselves training with a sword, etc. I’m going to have to see if there is an audio version for my hubby and daughter!

    Hmm, I’m not sure what I liked best other than both main characters are truly good people. While they both have some growing to do, it’s nice to read about decent people right from the start. I know! – I really loved the way the way the backstory was slowly revealed in bits & pieces. What’s a stray? Oh. Why’s half the land in darkness? Oh! Kristen Lamb has been posting a series on flashbacks/backstory and this week’s post really applied. And I loved that I was noticing the enticing tidbits of backstory Jill Williamson dropped in the book even before I read Lamb’s post.

    I was slightly surprised that the council voted against Achan. But at the same time I wasn’t surprised they did. The corruption of the council was sadly too reminiscent of much of today’s politicians. I also guessed the big reveal very early on. Not sure if that’s just a result of being an adult reader? I was disappointed we never learned why Nathak doesn’t want Achan killed but I’m pretty sure I’ve already guessed the reason (and it has to do with what the bloodvoice mediators detected him hiding). And I wanted Vrel to reveal her secret – up until now I’ve understood her not revealing it but unless something changes, I won’t understand it soon. Not to mention it’ll be harder and harder to confess the deeper she longer she clings to the deception. I’m also a little concerned at the hints at a romantic future between Achan and Vrel because it makes me worried something may happen to Bran. I like him – Jax, too – I can see him so vividly in my mind. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m inclined to not be very forgiving of Poril. I just don’t see where the way he treated Achan was very kind or loving – and I had the impression, other than the tonic, that Nathak didn’t pay all that much attention to Achan until around where the story picked up and so wouldn’t have cared about the beatings one way or the other. What did you think?

    The underground tunnels were very interesting though such an elaborate system seems slightly far-fetched. (Oh – I also thought the idea of the council continuing to allow Nathak to vote was ludicrous!) The land half in shadow is very intriguing. The line about Achan pushing back the darkness almost made me expect the darkness to recoil from him as soon as the boat slid into the darkness at the end. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I liked both POVs equally. And I didn’t mind Vrel’s attitude toward traveling with men and roughing it – I actually really appreciated it. It was mentioned how she thought men were gross with some of their habits and how much she disliked the filth but I liked that she knew what needed to be done and stuck with it, no matter how disconcerting or uncomfortable.

    I’m looking forward to learning more about Rigil/Bran and Jax in the rest of the series. Oh – and Tara.

    Like

    1. I forgot about Nathak not wanting Achan killed. I was wondering if his life was somehow tied to Esek’s. And I completely agree – I can’t imagine them letting Nathak vote after finding out he’d been deceiving them for 16 years! I thought the fact his face was half-burnt and the land was half in darkness was pretty cool. Coincidence? I think not! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I like Jax and Bran too, especially Jax. I was kind of confused about the good giant/bad giant thing. I’m not sure if the populations in Darkness are bad because of the mist’s influence, or if they were that way at first.

      Hmm. I’ll have to check on Kristen Lamb’s post on backstory. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. “Coincidence? I think not! ;)” – Exactly!! lol

        Now that you mention it, I was a little confused about the darkness influence, too – some people seemed to live in it ok. Or were the darkness and the mist two different things?

        Like

  4. Oh – one more thing that surprised me was when she packed his wounds with spider webs. Eewww!! But I also found that part fascinating as I’ve been researching natural-first-aid techniques for a scene I’m currently writing myself! Though I think I’ll skip the spider webs. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

