Fairy tales, anyone? Calling all Melanie Dickerson fans!

Huntress

I have always loved fairy tales. Some of my favorite authors are ones who re-spin fairy tales into novels–Robin McKinley is one, and now Melanie Dickerson is another. Unlike Robin McKinley, who places her characters in fantasy worlds with magic, Melanie Dickerson places her characters in the past and uses everyday objects and situations. One of the reasons I love reading her books is because I’m always curious to see how she going to explain the fairy tale magic as an ordinary circumstance.

Description: “Swan Lake” meets Robin Hood when the beautiful daughter of a wealthy merchant by day becomes the region’s most notorious poacher by night, and falls in love with the forester. You can read more on Goodreads, except I think the long description gives way too much of the plot away. So if you are spoiler sensitive (like me), avoid the extra descriptions and just enjoy the book.

Thoughts: For me, the story started out slow and I wondered whether I would enjoy it as much as Melanie’s other novels. By the time I was finished, I found I had enjoyed it more. She did an incredible job of weaving the same theme into different story lines. A careful reader will be able to predict the plot twist, but even if you see it coming, you still don’t know exactly how the story will unfold. Best yet, the characters must rely on God’s instead of their own efforts to resolve their issues.

Recommendation: Highly recommended for historical fiction lovers, romance lovers, fairy tale enthusiasts, and Melanie Dickerson fans.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book through NetGalley in return for an honest review.

Bonus: If you have never read Melanie Dickerson but enjoy re-imagined fairy tales, you can get the first 5 of her books right now as a set for $9.99. Hurry, because I think the offer expires soon!

dickerson boxed set

LET ME HEAR FROM YOU: Are you a Melanie Dickerson fan? If so, what has been your favorite book so far? Or tell me your favorite fairy tale?

2 thoughts on “Fairy tales, anyone? Calling all Melanie Dickerson fans!

Leave a Reply

