In which I share what I have been working on and ask for input

Hello, friends. I’ve been silent far too long, but I decided not to write until I had something worth saying.

It occurred to me that you might like to know what I’ve been up to. So here’s a list:

1. Writing

I’m still writing about Laurel, Alexa, Flapjack and the others. My goal is to have the story finished by the end of July. I’d like to shop it around at the Realm Makers Conference to gauge interest.

2. Map Making

To keep going forward, I needed a picture in my head of where the characters are headed, so I stopped and made a map. What do you think?

Creature Realm

3. Naming

It also occurred to me that the title of the story might not capture its essence. I’ve been playing around with names. I’d love to hear which one(s) you like:

4. Judging

Not people, stories! 🙂 And by invitation. I’ve spent some time reading other people’s work and weighing in on what is good and what can be improved. If you’re a writer and you’ve never been on the other side of a writing contest, it’s eye-opening. You really can tell a lot about a story by the first page or two.

5. Contesting

I’ve submitted a couple of short stories to contests, and I’m also helping to coordinate a couple of short story contests. I’ll be writing a blog post soon on why I think short stories contests are so important – so stay tuned!

That’s what’s been going on with me. Now, what have you been up to while I’ve been gone?

4 thoughts on “In which I share what I have been working on and ask for input

  1. Hmm, I voted for Searching but I also like the Fearsome Critters one. Wonder how you could meld the two. Wish I could join you at Realm Makers – have a blast & tell us all about it when you get back. (I know, it’s not for a while yet.) I’m excited about the story & I hope it goes well. And I want to hear more about the judging!

    You know what I’ve been up to – work, work, tons of research on special ed law and learning disorders, and a new puppy with all the potty training and other training that comes with it. Also trying to find some time for some certification at work. Feeling rather overwhelmed at the moment!

    Like

  2. Well Cuz I have no suggestions or complaints except that I am awaiting the finished story. You cannot leave those poor little girls stuck with those strange critters they need to move on to more adventures. I do not know where you get your imagination but I am sorry Chip and Branden did not decide to be writers. LOL They used to come up with doozies when writing essays in high school. Good luck in all you do from being a Mommy, to dog trainer to writer. Looking forward!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

