2 writing contests you don’t want to miss

Hello, writer friends. I wanted to make sure that you were aware of two contests that are currently ongoing. These are both fantastic because they not only hone story writing skills, but part of the prize is publication. If you haven’t already done so, give these some consideration. And, if you would, get the word out to all your friends as well.

RM Short Story promoShort Story contest: Speculative Fiction

The Realm Makers Conference is hosting a short story contest (500-5,000 words) to raise money for their scholarship fund. Stories can be any type of speculative fiction but must include the theme “Escape.”

The top stories will be published into an anthology by Brimstone Fiction. And the winning stories will receive free tuition to the 2016 (or later) Realm Makers Conference.

Entry fee $25. Deadline is April 30.

Havok-Logo-300x124

Flash Fiction: Science Fiction vs. Fantasy

Splickety’s Havoc magazine is hosting a contest to determine which is better – Sci-Fi or Fantasy. If you’ve never tried your hand at writing flash fiction (a full fledged story under 1000 words), you should give it a shot. I plan to enter. Why not? It’s only 1000 (or less) words!

There are an assortment of prizes including money, publication, and other fun gifts.

Entry fee is $10. Deadline is May 8.

TELL ME: HAVE YOU EVER ENTERED A WRITING CONTEST? 

6 thoughts on “2 writing contests you don’t want to miss

  1. The only writing contest I ever entered was an unofficial “finish the story” fanfiction contest in 1997. Though my entry did win first place! 😉 http://www.angelfire.com/planet/teegar/prize.htm
    I later polished up the story and posted it on fanfiction.net as The Trouble With Terrorists.

    Splickety’s contest looks interesting, though I’m not very experienced with flash fiction. I’ll have to mull over story ideas and see if I can come up with anything.

    Like

      1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s definitely one of my earliest pieces. (Aside from that infamous Gumshoe the Pirate story I need to scan someday. lol) The version on fanfiction.net is better, especially including more of the ending, but the gist is the same.

        It’s funny you mention the accents. I cleaned up the fanfiction in community college for my creative writing class and my professor and I went rounds over the accents. She really disliked them but I hate StarTrek stories that don’t include just a tough of the accents.

        I’m debating expanding that dragon-egg-hunting excerpt I wrote for that speculativefaith entry last year into a short story for the contest. I’ve always wanted to explore that world more.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

