In which I interview one of my favorite fantasy authors, Donita K Paul

pink headshot
The Dragon Lady, Donita K Paul

I grew up loving fantasy books. I used to feel guilty about reading them at church though, as if I should be ashamed of loving dragons and wizards and unicorns. I remember a few years ago when I walked into a LifeWay Bookstore and actually found fantasy books on the shelf of a Christian bookstore! And so it was that I fell in love with The Dragon Keeper Chronicles and their lovely author.

Track forward several years, and now I find myself writing Christian fantasy and sci-fi. Not only has God answered the dream of my heart, he led me to a place where I met (online) Donita, and if all goes well I might get to meet her in person in August! 😀

If you don’t know her, please allow me to introduce a wonderful author whose story worlds are unbelievably imaginable and whose quirky characters you will love.

Thank you so much for taking time out from your busy writing schedule to be interviewed! In addition to all your dragons, do you have any pets? If so, how many and what kinds?

I have a Dwarf Netherland lop-eared bunny. His ears did not lop so he was due to be eliminated from the gene pool. I rescued him from a fatal bop on the head.HipHoptummyUp

LOL. Bunny Foo-foo was always such a bully. What is your favorite Bible story and why?

One? Whichever one I was teaching to the three year olds was my favorite.

Which part of your book was the most difficult to write – the beginning, middle, or end? Is that always the case, or only for this book or story?

The whole thing! This was written right after my stroke, and I couldn’t remember what happened in the first book. Honestly, I couldn’t remember what I’d written one day previously.

Oh no! That sounds horrible, and yet the stories mirror each other perfectly. I hope you’re doing much better now.

Which one comes first for you– the characters, the story, or something else?

The characters. In this case, it was Bridger, a shape-shifting dragon who has a pet cat.

I love Bridger. ❤ Can you tell us something about your book that you know but isn’t in the book? Perhaps share some back-story on a character?

Bridger once wanted to be a renowned chef.

What are you working on now?

The third book in the trilogy, Prophecy of Three.

I figured it would have “three” and “realm” in the title. Looks like I was only half right. 😉

What is one thing you’d like your readers to know?

None of the writing is worthwhile without the readers. I love your comments on the website, or one of the social medias. Sometimes a word from you is like a drop of rain in my dry plot of earth.

And before you go, what is the best thing your readers can do for you? Besides words of encouragement?

Word of mouth publicity. If you like a book (any book), tell a friend. That is far better advertising than any ad can do.

Thank you, Ms. Donita! And now an excerpt form Two Renegade Realms (#2 in The Realm Walkers series).

2renegaderealms

Bixby hurried to her patient’s side. “You’re awake. Let me give you a drink.”

“There was one brew you gave me last night that tasted like it’d been dipped from a frog pond. The other one was all right.”

Bixby wrinkled her nose. “I’m afraid it’s the frog pond for now. It eases your pain and allows you to think clearly.”

“What does the other one do?”

“Allows you to rest and keeps you from vomiting.”

“Well, I’ve got something to tell you, so I guess I’ll swallow the pond water.”

Bixby hesitated. “You do know that it isn’t really pond water?”

“I know. It would help if I could hold my nose.”

“Your nose is broken.”

“I know.”

Cantor heard the humor in the wounded man’s voice. He stepped closer and caught him winking at Bixby.

“I’ll help hold him up so he can drink.” Cantor positioned himself at the head of the bed. He could brace against the frame and keep it from swaying. He could also redirect any inappropriate conversation should the man feel like one last flirt with a pretty girl.

Bixby squinted her eyes at him. Cantor, he’s dying. 

These guards can be rough individuals. I just don’t want him talking to you like you were a bar room floozy.

She giggled. Bar room floozy?

Cantor did not want to be diverted. Doesn’t this man need a drink? His medicine?

She went away to fix the potion. When she came back, Cantor held the guard, gently lifting him by the shoulders and supporting his head against his chest. Jesha moved aside, hopping off the bed and exiting the cabin.

The guard drank the smelly brew all at once.

Bixby smiled at him. “I put spoonfuls of Old Trout’s honey in it. Was it any better?”

Cantor lowered him carefully before the patient answered. “It was sweeter . . . but still pond water.”

Bixby heaved a big sigh. “I’m sorry.”

“Don’t be. I figure you won’t be able―” He grunted. “―to pour many more of those down me before I die.”

Bixby remained silent for a moment. Cantor thought the sorrow on her face would tear a hole in his heart.

The series starts with One Realm Beyond…

1realmbeyond

GIVEAWAY: Ms. Paul is giving away a signed copy of Two Renegade Realms to someone living in the US. I know this is a great prize, because I’d like to keep it for my bookshelf. 🙂

TO ENTER, COMMENT below (keep scrolling) or look for the comment link under the title (above) and TELL ME, what is your favorite book or movie that contains dragons?

Winner will be announced next Monday.

Gillian Bronte Adams is the winner of last week’s drawing – a copy of Blood for Blood by Ben Wolf. Congrats, Gillian! B4B

20 thoughts on “In which I interview one of my favorite fantasy authors, Donita K Paul

  1. Congratulations, Gillian!
    And wow, I can’t imagine the effort it took to write after a stroke!
    Hmm, my favorite book/movie with dragons… It’s really hard to pick one but I think I just remembered my favorite. Though it may not quite count. Voyage of the Dawn Treader – I love the part where Eustace is turned into a dragon and has a change of heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to have to answer on behalf of my 11 year old son who would definitely say the Dragon Keeper Series. Donita, I believe your books turned my reluctant reader into an avid reader. He loves them and I often tell him he has to read another book before he can read through the series again. 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

    1. That’s something Evan and I have in common, then. It’s been forever since I read the Dragon Keeper series, but I find myself wanting to go back to them again because I enjoyed them so much. Her new series (this one) is just as good. 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi! I love dragons! My favorite dragons are the ones in the DragonSpell series by Donita K. Paul. I also enjoy Bridger as a companion dragon in The Realm Walker Trilogy. Fun!

    Like

  4. Oh this is a tough one. My favorite books of all times are the Harry Potter series and Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s Tales of Goldstone Wood series, but if it’s about which books/movies had my favorite dragons, it would be Donita K. Paul’s Dragon Keeper Chronicles. Although, I did enjoy Eragon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only read the Goddess Tithe, which I think was in the same world as the Goldstone Wood series, but not really part of the series…? Is that right? I haven’t read any of her others, although she has amazing covers as well.

      Along with Donita’s, I love Anne McCaffrey’s dragon series. I’m surprised no one mentioned it.

      Like

      1. Goddess Tithe tells a bit of Lionheart’s story when he’s hunting for clues to destroy the Dragon, which is referenced in Heartless and Veiled Rose. It isn’t necessary to read, but awesome nevertheless. 😉

        I’ve read one book by Anne McCaffrey, and I think if I had read it when I was younger I would have gobbled the series up. I definitely enjoyed the story I did read. I’ve heard a lot of people love that series. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. “Bridger once wanted to be a renowned chef.” Somehow that doesn’t surprise me at all. 🙂

    My favorite dragon book is honestly one of Donita K. Paul’s–either DragonQuest or Dragons of the Watch. Although the Eragon series was also very good. My favorite dragon movie is definitely How to Train Your Dragon (the Eragon adaptation was far too cheesy). Oh, but how could I forget Smaug? Alright, alright, let’s just say I really like dragons. A lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

