10 Reasons why I like Facebook

We’re rounding the bend. 2014 is coming to a close and 2015 is peeking around the corner. I’m going to go into blog hibernation for the holidays, so this will be my penultimate post for this year. πŸ™‚

I’ve read a lot of negatives about Facebook and social media in general. And I agree with some of it. People do tend to glue their eyes to their phones and miss what is going on around them. Some people share the wrong types of things on social media. Some images are disturbing. But I don’t think it’s the problem with FB. I think the problem lies with us and with what we surround ourselves. However, instead of focusing on the negatives today, I’d like to focus on the positives. So here is my list of the reasons why I like Facebook.

Aggies1. It’s a place to make new friends.Β 

As strange as it seems, I have made a lot of new friends on Facebook. Now, they are mostly other writers, but it’s easier to connect with people when you can see pictures of them and the things they do. Much easier than with emails. And when you have a lot of mutual friends, it’s safe to make a new one. πŸ™‚

2. It’s a place to keep up with friends and family.

It’s easy to catch glimpses of what’s going on in the lives of people who live to far away for me to see them often. I can celebrate their successes, smile at cute pictures and jokes, and know when they are hurting.

Scripture3. It’s a place to be encouraged.

Having a bad day? I get jokes, funny videos, Scripture, and inspirational memes on my feed. If I post what I’m going through, I get sympahty, prayer, and encouragement.Β 

Ideas4. It’s a place to be inspired.

Crafts, new recipes (although personally I think these belong on pinterest), ideas galore. People share and ask for suggestions from their community.

Funny5. It’s a handy place to discuss things.

Want a meeting that fits into everyone’s schedules, times, and locations? Make a post in a private group and check back for replies. It’s a great way to discuss things and make logistical arrangements without having to resort to emails or conference calls.

6. It’s a place to be challenged.Inspirational

I like reading posts on subjects that are new to me, or on viewpoints that are different than mine. It’s nice to know what other people think. I might not agree with them all the time, but it’s healthy to get other opinions.

Excretion7. It’s a place to share.

Funny things, pictures, thoughts, events, whatever is going on with you and yours, posting is one way to keep people that are interested in knowing what’s going on with you updated at the same time.

8. It’s where I find out what’s going on in the world.

Sadly, I don’t keep up with current events or popular culture much. So my major news outlet is FB. So, thank you to those people who post interesting news articles. Otherwise I would be #clueless. For instance, I would never have know that Kim Kardashian mooned the world on the cover of some magazine if it hadn’t been for Facebook. (Thankfully, there was no picture).

9. It’s a place to learn new languages, such as Pirate English.

Pirate

You can also chose English (UK) and English (upside down). Which ties into number 10…

10. It’s a place to be silly.

Bitstrips, ridiculous quizzes, you name it. I can be highly entertained by the things other people post.

If FB isn’t a positive and fun experience for you, then think about who your friends are, what types of posts you “like” and what type of articles you click on. FB figures out based on your activity what they think you want to see. So block the stuff you don’t like and praise the stuff you do. But most of all, remember

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. ~Philippians 4:8

NOW TELL ME HOW FB IS FOR YOU? GOOD, BAD, BOTH, NEITHER? WHAT WOULD YOU ADD TO MY LIST? WHAT WOULD YOU STRIKE?

7 thoughts on “10 Reasons why I like Facebook

  1. Is that what she did? I must definitely surround myself with the right kind of people as I’d heard a few references to “Kim Kardashian’s butt” but had no idea what had happened (and no interest in pursuing it to find out.). πŸ˜‰ Like you, I often hear about events on facebook and that’s my signal to run over to the news outlets to learn more.

    I remember when Facebook first started getting popular and I just did not get it. But I started checking it more often to keep up with old college friends and now I can barely remember life before it. There are certain aspects of it I’m still not crazy about (like community groups – I’d rather stick with an old-fashioned forum where you can search for old posts) and I don’t have time for the games and such but for the most part, it helps me connect with family, old friends and new friends.

    Like

  2. I like FB for all the reasons you listed–especially the opportunity to meet new people. And yes, pictures make those connections much more real.

    You’re absolutely right–Facebook is what YOU make it. It can be a huge even dangerous distraction… if YOU let it. It can ignite and fuel embarrassing, nightmarish personal issues if caution and common sense go by the wayside when YOU chose what to post. The only power FB has is the power YOU give it.

    Philippians 4:8 is a great tool to use when making posting decisions.

    Like

  3. Lisa I agree with your list and it is truly a place to keep up with family and friends as the life style most of us live keeps us from family get together’s as when we were children. I truly miss those days when life was simple and people actually visited and talked to each other face to face. However, I must share this with you, Chip refuses to be on fb unless posted by his wife Jennifer and he has a “Ten Reasons Why I am not on fb List”. Needless to say I cannot remember them as he would call and give them to me one or two at a time and made me laugh each time. Now another reason I like fb I am able to share this with you, as you know Chip I am sure you understand. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

