Are you ready for the rapture?

Blog-Hop-Button-3-300x300

I’ve had fun participating on the launch team for A Time to Die, the fabulous debut novel by Nadine Brandes. I’m the last stop on the blog hop, so I wanted to do something a bit different. That’s me–a bit different. 😉

So, instead of just answering the question what would I do if I had one year left to live, I want to also ask, what if I only had one year until Jesus returned?

photo credit: Zyllan Fotografía via photopin cc
photo credit: Zyllan Fotografía via photopin cc

With ISIS/ISIL, Ebola, and the state of the world in general, it’s not surprising to wonder whether the end may come in our time. If you think about it, each passing second brings us closer to the time of Jesus’ return. Over and over in Scripture, we are warned that the time is near. 

I don’t want to dwell on how or when the rapture will occur. Maybe one day I’ll post about it, but today I will defer to those more learned than I. Here are two great articles on the rapture, if you’re interested in reading more about the subject:

Why the differentiation between dying in a year or being called to heaven in a year? Aren’t they the same thing?

Well, yes, in that my time here on Earth will be done. But, no, in that when I die I will probably leave friends and family behind me. When Christ returns, I hope my friends and family will be going with me. And, yes, that includes you. 🙂

So here are my thoughts on how my last year would differ depending on if I knew I was going to die vs. be raptured as part of the church:

If I had one year to live, I would try to prepare my friends and family for my death. I wouldn’t want them to be mad at God because I died. I’d want them to find comfort in him instead.

But if I had one year until He returned, I’d want to get as many people ready to go with me as I could. No more messing around and acting like we’ll live forever.

If I had one year left to live, I would spend as much quality time with my family as I could. I would want to invest in them and hope to leave them memories to take the sting of my parting.

But if I had one year until Christ came for us, I would want my family to help spread the news to as many people as possible. After all, we’d all be leaving Earth together to spend eternity with God.

If I had one year left to live, I would try to tie up any loose ends and prepare my family for the future as best I could. I would write a journal to my girls with words of hope and encouragement for their big days ahead. High school graduation. Their first date. Their wedding. Their first child.

But if I had one year til Christ returns, I wouldn’t prepare for a future here on Earth. There would be no need. I’d spend all my time preparing for a future in heaven.

Things that make you go hmmmm.

WHAT WOULD YOU ADD TO THE LIST?

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Check out A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes. It’s a story about a girl, a whole society in fact, that knows the precise moment they will die from the moment of their birth. They don’t know how, but they do know when…

You-Have-One-Year
How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater believes she has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside. In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the government’s crooked justice system. 

But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence. What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her clock is running out.

This is book one in the “Out of Time” trilogy (subsequent volumes coming in 2015 and 2016).

ATimetoDieCov

You can connect with Nadine at her website, on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Are you ready for the rapture?

  1. Very good thoughts. I hadn’t thought about the differentiation but if I had one year to live, I would be inclined to want to focus a bit more on what & who I leave behind whereas one year to Christ coming would focus more on what I take with me. Only, I think in many ways that should be our primary focus every day regardless.

    Like

    1. That’s what came to me while I was writing this. One set of answers is more earth-minded, and the other more kingdom-focused. Although, my primary desire in the former is so I would see my family in the kingdom.

      Like

  2. Great post Lisa! I was just talking to my husband about an article that states that if the world goes along the same way as it has, it will reach the end of human sustainability by around 2100. it’s the stuff of science fiction novels! the imagination goes into overdrive! That’s my grandkid’s generation! Yikes, it makes one’s mind boggle if you think about how long we’ve actually been here compared to how old the world is. Pretty depressing how man can mess things up so fast!! L. >

    Like

Leave a Reply

