Nadine Brandes on A Time to Die

Nadine Brandes - Head Shot

I haven’t written much yet about A Time to Die, Nadine’s fantastic debut novel. I have a couple of fun blog posts scheduled to explore some themes in the novel, but before I do that, I’d like to introduce you to Nadine. If you’re like me and adore dystopian fiction (as long as it’s original), then you’ll LOVE A Time to Die. Not only is it original, it’s Christian, and that means you get the bonus: great story laced with hope.

Please help welcome Nadine to the blog and read to the end for a glimpse of her book and a chance to win a copy!

Hi Nadine! Thanks so much for coming on the blog today to talk about your upcoming release! The first question I always ask is this: do you consider yourself a Christian author or author of Christian fiction? What do you think the difference is? 

Hello Lisa! Thank you for having me. I consider myself a Christian author. One reason being that my entire passion and pursuit of writing has been at God’s urging. Looking back through my life, I can clearly see His hand in shaping me as a storyteller. I could never do it without Him, nor would I want to. I like watching Him hone the story into the message He knows it needs to send.

I hear you. I wouldn’t want to do anything without God. 🙂 One of the characters in your novel is maimed during the course of the story. Did you know that was going to happen when you started writing the book? What challenges are inherent in writing a character that is physically limited?

No! I had no clue that would happen! I had the entire scene planned out for that character to be rescued. No matter how I worked it, the scene wouldn’t come out right. It didn’t work. Then, during a long drive home, I felt as though God whispered, “That character doesn’t get rescued in that moment.” I argued a very long time with Him before I finally accepted it. Now, I see many reasons why this had to happen.

It’s hard for me to 1) remember that this character has this limitation sometimes and 2) make this character react and process through the circumstance and struggles convincingly. Since I don’t share this limitation (nor do I know someone who does) it’s hard to deliver it convincingly or in a way others can relate.

It came across as believable to me, enough to make me cringe when it happened. [ouch]

One of the characters in your novel, The Preacher, is modeled after the author of Ecclesiastes, whom many believe was King Solomon. Tell us about how you created this character and if we can expect to see more of him in the rest of the series.

Well, you kind of summed it up. He’s modeled after The Preacher in Ecclesiastes. If I were to make that book into a person, that’s how I imagine him. I get a little grouchy at the author of Ecclesiastes and I felt like Parvin was a channel through which I could finally argue against some of the author’s opinions.

Yes, we will see him again in book two. 🙂 I’m actually writing a scene with him at this very moment.

I understand that A Time to Die is the first book in a trilogy. Any idea what you’ll work on when you finish the series?

Nadine in pirate attire
Nadine in pirate attire

Oooh yes. I have a long list, but there’s been a portal fantasy series that’s been aching to come out ever since I first viewed writing as a profession. I was actually working on that when A Time to Die interrupted me. I won’t give too many details though. I want it to be a surprise. [grin]

My curiosity is piqued! And before you go, what is one thing you’d like your readers to know?

Our time on earth is limited, but with God we are limitless. Pursue both (life & God) to the full potential He’s given you. It’s worth every ounce of risk and energy.

You can connect with Nadine at her website, Amazon author page, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.  

ATimetoDieCovHow would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater believes she has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside. In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the government’s crooked justice system.

But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence. What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her clock is running out.

This is book one in the “Out of Time” trilogy (subsequent volumes coming in 2015 and 2016).

10588838_10152691288241639_220675599_n 

SO, READERS, WHAT DO YOU THINK? IS THIS A BOOK YOU’D LIKE TO READ?

IN ORDER TO SUPPORT NADINE AND HER FANTASTIC NEW SERIES, I’M GIVING AWAY AN E-BOOK COPY OF A TIME TO DIE. COMMENT BELOW TO BE ENTERED. WINNER ANNOUNCEd ON RELEASE DAY, SEPT. 23. Must be 18 or older to enter. No purchase necessary.

Congratulations to Brad, the winner of The Legend of Sheba:Rise of a Queen giveaway!

15 thoughts on “Nadine Brandes on A Time to Die

      1. Coming up soon – Sept 19th! I have friends on facebook who always mention it. I usually just change my facebook language to Pirate for a day or two – it’s hilarious but tricky to understand! Have you ever tried the Pirate setting?

        Like

          1. There’s a setting that will change the language of facebook to “pirate”. Sadly, it doesn’t convert everything your friends post, but all the Facebook text will change.
            1) Click the Drop Arrow in the upper right of Facebook and select “settings”
            2) Under General Account Settings, click “edit” next to Language
            3) Scroll down to the English Options Setting and pick “English (Pirate)”. (Just try to remember how you did this because once all the wording changes piratey, it can be hard to navigate your way back to undo it when you get tired of it!)
            There is also an “English (Upside down)” option but unless you really like torturing your brain, I don’t know if I’d recommend it. 😉

            Like

Leave a Reply

