I’m giving up on marketing and maybe you should too

At least for now. Possibly for good. 

Why?

Because I’ve lost my focus. My writing has become self-centered instead of God-centered.

I select blog posts based on what I think will attract people. People think forensics are cool? Let’s write about forensics!

I track the number of likes on my author page and obsess on how to get more. What if I post this? What if I post that? Which post gets shared most? 

I spend time on the computer when I could be doing fun things with my family. Just let me get past this deadline and it will get better…

I get stressed when I haven’t posted anything new in a while. Stressed – like can’t-get-to-sleep-and-then-wake-up-early stress. Acid reflux stress. I’m going crazy stress. All self-induced because I’m worrying about reaching self-imposed goals that no one but me cares about. And really, people won’t notice if I post or not.

So, I need to refocus on God. It’s right there in the Bible: God’s solution to marketing and all your other problems:

photo credit: mkhmarketing via photopin cc

 

Who wants to help keep me accountable?

 

14 thoughts on “I’m giving up on marketing and maybe you should too

  1. I decided several years ago it was my job to write and God’s job to market. I don’t read reviews …well, not unless someone sends me one, and I don’t obsess over numbers. I can’t add one buyer. But God can. Good post.

    Like

  2. I’ve not blogged much this year, not like I had planned to. Life got in the way and I’ve barely kept up with my SpecFaith column and my infidelity blog. My output is not what it used to be. But like you say, the important things come first: God and family.

    Like

    1. Sometimes I think we end up with too many pots in the fire (or whatever that saying is). I’m going to focus on what I enjoy doing – which is blogging and promoting other authors whose books I like. The rest can take care of itself.

      I hope life gets out of your way soon because I like your stories. 😉

      Like

  3. That’s a great paraphrased Bible verse. And here I’ve been feeling bad that I’m lucky if I make a blog post once a month! I enjoy your blog posts but only if you find joy in them, too. I’m a friend before I’m a fan so take as many steps back or sideways as you need to get right with God. 🙂

    Like

    1. I don’t plan to stop blogging. It’s more what I blog about that will change. I actually enjoy blogging quite a bit. In fact, at times I find myself thinking in blog posts. LOL

      Like

  4. Great post, Lisa, and an awesome reminder about priorities. It’s soooooo easy to stress out about stuff that, in the end, isn’t all that important. As R. L. Copple noted, life gets in the way. Like every day, sometimes every hour. We must keep our focus on GOD so our lives, and what we write, will reflect HIM. Thanks, my friend, this needed nudge.

    Like

  5. Thank you, Lisa. This is something I’ve been struggling with as well. I want to write for God’s glory, not for the latest fad in Christian publishing. I enjoy Scriblerians, and I’m into my latest series for my2ndnature, but I also need to carve out time to edit what I want to publish in BOOKS! Not going to feel guilty anymore!

    Like

  6. I so agree on the GOD aspect. If GOD is not centred squarely on the topic HE’s put on my heart to write…it’s just journaling. For some ridiculous reason I do check my stats…not that there’s much point. I have little following and I don’t say that to belittle myself. GOD moves in big ways when HE wants and in small ways as appropriate. I may not see what HE’s up to on a daily basis but that doesn’t make HIM any less present or effective in how HE works in my life – or ours….

    Like

    1. I agree completely. It’s easy to get discouraged if you don’t have a large following. Or if you write a post and no one likes or comments. But at the end of the day, I ask myself what if I only help one person? What if my books only make it big after I am dead? In the end, it’s all about obedience and making use of the girls God has given us.

      Thanks for posting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

