Top 10 Favorite Classics

Classics

I’m doing Top 10 Tuesday through the summer. Topics provided by The Broke and the Bookish blog (http://www.brokeandbookish.com/). Today’s challenge is to list your favorite classics of all time (however you define classics). These are the ones that came to me first. 

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: Love the book and the movie

2. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas. Long but so worth it.

3-5. My favorite Jane Austen’s: Pride and Prejudice, Emma, and Sense and Sensibility 

6. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien: Probably should have been #1 on this list

7. Just So Stories and Rikki Tikki Tavi (from the Jungle Book) by Rudyard Kipling

8. Watership Down by Richard Adams: not sure if this one counts as a classic since it was written in my life time, but it should. 😉 Same thing with A Wrinkle in Time. Meant to add it to the collage but missed it. 😦

9. The Call of the Wild by Jack London

10. Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

11. The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe: OK, so not ALL the tales and poems, but definitely some of the tales, and that nevermore raven poem. 

How many of these have you read? What did I miss?

11 thoughts on “Top 10 Favorite Classics

  1. What a great blog idea! Top Ten Tuesday! My classics include: 1) The Thornbirds – Colleen McCullough, 2) Christy – Catherine Marshall, 3) Moby Dick – Melville, 4) Gone With the Wind – Margaret Mitchell, 5) Little House Series – Laura Ingalls Wilder, 6) The Scarlet Letter – Hawthorne, 7) Little Women – Bronti, 8) Of Mice and Men – Steinbeck, 9) Great Expectations – Dickens and 10) Diary of a Young Girl – Anne Frank

    Like

  2. Emma is my favorite Austin. Though I’ve only read the three you listed, plus I saw a horrible version of Mansfield Park.

    I’ve read half the books you listed but I only really cared for one or two of them. The Hobbit mostly. I don’t know, maybe I read them too young to appreciate them and it turned me off from wanting to give them another chance (and many “classics” in general).

    My favorite classics: Tolkien, The Narnia Chronicles, Anne of Green Gables series, Little Women, What Katie Did, The Robe, The Wizard of Oz series, Pilgrim’s Progress (though I liked the revised “Little Pilgrim’s Progress” better), Mistress Malapert by Sally Watson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

