Top 10 Books on my (summer) TBR list

Have you ever heard of the site www.brokeandbookish.com? Me neither, but they do this cool meme thing on Tuesday where they give you a top 10 theme to write about. I saw it on a new blog I’ve been following, thestorysanctuary.com. Today’s theme – top 10 books I want to read next. Love it! I can’t write about books until the cows come home (whatever that means). So here they are:

1. Demon: A Memoir by Tosca Lee

I recently met Tosca at a writing conference (Realm Makers) in Philadelphia. I’d had my eye on her book, Iscariot, for some time because a story from Judas’ point of view grabbed my attention. What an interesting premise. I finished it a couple of days ago and Oh My WOW! I’ll write about it later, but it is a great book! So Demon is on my list and I will be reading it as soon as I get it in my hot little hands. Plus, I’m taking my final seminary class this summer on Angelology, Anthropology, and Hamaritology (that’s angels/demons, man, and sin for the rest of us). I’m interested to see how Tosca handles the subject.

2. Spirit Bridge by James L. Rubart

I won this book on Angie Brashears’ site and I couldn’t be more excited. I’ve heard a lot about the author but have never read any of his books and now I have the chance. Sure, I’m picking up in the middle of the series. Hopefully that won’t trip me up too much. 😉

3. That Wasn’t Chicken by Linda Kozar

This is the 4th installment in the Until the Fat Ladies Sing cozy mystery series. I’m so glad that Linda wrote another one because these books crack me up. They’re set in small town Texas featuring large women with even bigger personalities. They remind me of a clean Janet Evanovich story. The characters get into funny fixes and do crazy things and I can’t stop reading about them.

 

4. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I read the first book in this series, Cinder, and really enjoyed it. Cinder was a cyberpunk retelling of Cinderella, and left unfinished. Scarlet brings in the story of Little Red Riding Hood complete with some werewolf stuff going on (I think). Looking forward to reading more of these stories.

 

 

 

5. Dreamlander by KM Weiland

This has been on my radar for a while and I picked it up on kindle for free back in January. I enjoy KM Weiland’s blog for writers and want to see if her story delivers as much as her writing tips do. Looks like it will.

 

 

 

6. Aquifer by Jonathan Friesen

I enjoy the sci-fi/fantasy books in Zondervan’s Blink line. I haven’t read this one yet, but I plan to this summer.

 

 

 

7. Son of Truth by Morgan Busse

This book is a sequel to Daughter of Light. I look forward to reading more of this series.

 

 

 

8. A Cast of Stones by Patrick Carr

I keep hearing wonderful things about this book and it keeps gathering awards and nominations for other awards. Definitely need to read this one soon. 🙂

 

 

 
9. A Star Curiously Singing by Kerry Nietz

The only book I’ve read by Kerry, Amish Vampires in Space, was exceptional. If you haven’t read it, you should. Kerry’s a great guy and a wonderful writer, so it’s time I read some of his pre-AViS stuff. Can’t wait.

 

 

10. Jill Williamson

OK, I’m cheating here on #10, but there are quite a few books that I haven’t read by one of my favorite authors, Jill Williamson. I love her Safe Lands series, and her stand alone Replication:The Jason Experiment. I haven’t read her Darkness series or her New Recruit series, but I have them queued up on my Kindle ready to go.

Now I ask you: What’s on your to-read list? Any of these or something else? Have you seen anything here that’s jumping on your TBR pile?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Books on my (summer) TBR list

  1. Hey Lisa! This is an awesome list. Some of these (you probably know from following my blog!) I’ve recently read and enjoyed! I’m going to have to add the KM Weiland one to my list. I also loved Demon and anything I’ve read by James Rubart – lots of spiritual depth really integrated well into the story. Hope you enjoy them all!

    Like

  2. I’ve got most of your list on mine. Plus too many others to count. I don’t know how you were able to narrow it down to a top 10. I’ve got so many books on my TBR pile that I get overwhelmed just trying to choose the next one!

    Like

    1. It’s somewhat easy to sort from books I sought out intentionally vs. books that ended up on my kindle because they happened to be free and have an interesting premise. I’ve got tons of those but they don’t tend to trickle up to “read me” until something else brings them to my attention. I guess they’re in book purgatory, waiting to be read or passed over. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

