confessions of a junior high bird face

I’m blogging over at The Scriblerians today, complete with my most embarrassing school picture ever–from 6th grade.

To celebrate the release of Cynthia Toney’s debut novel, Bird Face, I have decided to publicly humiliate myself. [deep breath]

You see, Cynthia’s novel took me back to my junior high years. I don’t know about yours, but mine came with a lot of ups and downs. Academic ups and relational downs, mostly.

In 6th grade, I had to switch elementary schools because I was admitted into a gifted and talented program and they weren’t offering it at the school that was a block from my house. So in my final year of elementary school, I had to start all over. New school, new friends, new everything. And I looked like this:

Read more at: http://thescriblerians.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/confessions-from-a-junior-high-bird-face/

Leave a Reply

