If you could be a prophet, would you?

I just finished a wonderful book. I’m so glad I did, or what would I have to post about? The “being thankful” thing has already been done ad naseum this month. 😉

prophet by larsonAfter my last post on prophets and fiction, I started Prophet by RJ Larson. It’s been sitting patiently in my Kindle since…August 2012 (I just looked it up) along with a lot of other great books that I have yet to read. I’ve committed to not purchasing any more books (or trying really hard not to) until I’ve read the ones I already have. It’s like an early New Year’s resolution, or really really late one. But on to the story…

Ela is asked by the Infinite (love, love, love this name for God) to be His Prophet. She accepts, even though it means leaving home and placing herself in danger. “A greyed haired prophet is a failure,” according to the people of Parne, Ela’s country. Ela goes through a series of assignments as she seeks to convey the Infinite’s words to the countries around her.

I loved this book. I would already be reading the sequel if I was allowing myself to buy books.

The thought that came to me while reading Prophet was if I could be a prophet, if God would speak to me directly, would I want to do it?

I have to tell you, the idea of hearing directly and clearly from God is very appealing. It would be so much easier to follow Him if I knew for sure what I was supposed to do. Being close to Him, being able to ask Him questions, being used directly by Him, being someone like Ela…it all seems so appealing.

Prophet by RJ Larson, does a great job of imagining what it might have been like to be God’s prophet. Being asked to do things that others think are crazy. Having everyone disbelieve you. Having people hate you and try to kill you. Having people mock you. Have people finally believe you, but too late. Knowing what’s going to happen and being powerless to prevent it. 

And then I think, if I listened closer (by reading my Bible, meditation on the word, spending more time in prayer), wouldn’t I have the relationship with God that I desire? Hearing from Him clearly, being close to Him, asking Him questions, being used by Him. If I paid more attention to the Holy Spirit’s leading, if I focused on Christ, wouldn’t I have all those things and more?

Because really, I image being a prophet is an uncomfortable profession. The bearer of bad news. The only one to know the future before it happens. Instead, I think I will be grateful for what I have today. Friends, family, faith, time to read, time to write. It is, after all, a time for thanksgiving. 😉

So, what about you? Would you be a prophet if you could?

4 thoughts on “If you could be a prophet, would you?

  1. Another book I’ve had on my to-read list for forever. I’ve always got my eyes out for books that I think my husband might enjoy as he’s not as much of a reader and rather selective – this one always struck me as a strong possibility.

    And what timing for your review – luckily, my “no new books” policy doesn’t apply to freebies! 😉

    I love Infinite as a name for God, too. So perfect. And the cover is gorgeous, too. Being a prophet, I think, would be even more of a daily act of trust than life already is by itself. My life verse recently has been Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”” I like knowing that He knows and that’s enough for me.

    Like

    1. How right you are. I hold tightly to that verse as well. 🙂

      I really, really, really liked this book. I really, really, really want to read the rest of the series. I did buy some books yesterday and today, but they were $0.99-1.99 and all ones that I’ve had my eye on. If Judge and King get that low, I’ll snatch them up in a moment.

      And good thing you keep winning contests too. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

