God loves me – He sent me 2 Jehovah’s Witnesses

photo credit: SAO! via photopin cc
photo credit: SAO! via photopin cc

How do I know God exists? Because I’m taking a class on Trinitarianism and God sent me two sweet Jehovah Witness women to my door. [JW’s don’t believe in the Trinity. In fact, they are taught that the Trinity is apostasy (a big bad no-no in religious circles)].

Just to make sure we’re all on the same page, let’s define what the Trinity is. Perhaps you remember the hymn Holy, Holy, Holy…

Holy, Holy, Holy! Lord God Almighty!
All Thy works shall praise thy name in earth and sky and sea;
Holy, Holy, Holy! Merciful and Mighty!
God in Three Persons, blessed Trinity!

The Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit are the members of the Trinity. All are mentioned in the Bible, but it is how they relate to one another and whether all or some are God that is the divergent belief for many off-shoots of Christianity.

My professor, Dr. Scott Horrell from Dallas Theological Seminary, quoted Cornelius Van Til (no idea who that is) who said, “The modern heresies in theology have their origin in or can be traced back to a false conception of the Trinity.”

Most conservative Protestants believe something similar to this (the belief statement from my church): We Believe that there is One True, Holy GOD, eternally existing in three persons—Father, Son and Holy Spirit—each of whom possesses equally all the attributes of deity and the characteristics of personality.

So what do JW’s believe? [taken from “Should You Believe in the Trinity?” one of their publication/tracks, apparently now out of print although they gave me a copy within the past month. Anyway, the statements below are taken from the publications and echo what they have told me verbally:]

  • The Trinity doctrine is false, that Almighty God stands alone as a separate, eternal, and all-powerful being.
  • Jesus in his prehuman existence was, like the angels, a separate spirit person created by God, and for this reason he must have had a beginning.
  • Jesus has never been Almighty God’s equal in any sense; he has always been subject to God and still is.
  • The holy ghost is not a person but God’s spirit, his active force.

Simply put, they believe that God the Father alone is God. Jesus is His Son (but not God), and the Holy Spirit is God’s force (but not God).

I’d like to spend some time exploring the Trinity with you. Hopefully, you’ll enjoy the ride. To get started, let’s determine what we believe by using the voting button below. Don’t worry, no one will know how you answered.

I’d love to hear from you! Does the Trinity twist your brain? Which part?

5 thoughts on “God loves me – He sent me 2 Jehovah’s Witnesses

  1. I think it’s really easy to twist your brain trying to understand “One GOD – three persons – each of whom possesses equally all the attributes” – but that’s because it’s unfathomable. It’s trying to comprehend the incomprehensible. It’s like trying to look at something too closely – all you get is cross-eyed and a headache. So I take it on faith and the Holy Spirit tells me it’s true. It’s not something I worry about other than when trying to explain it to someone else.

    Like

  2. Oh, and your story about the JWs cracked me up. My parents are actually on their black-list. One too many times inviting them in to present them with the truth – they haven’t had one knock on the door in 15 years – the JWs practically cross to the other side of the street when they pass their house.

    Like

    1. I’m not blacklisted yet. It’s rather interesting. I know they’re coming because they’re worried about my salvation, but speaking to them just gets all of us in the Bible more. I’m interested to see where this leads. I think it’s no coincidence that they showed up at my door. 🙂

      Like

  3. Yes out of love you got Jehovah Witnesses on your doorsteps so you could listen to them and receive some good study material.

    According to the Holy Scriptures, the bible, which they and other non-trinitarian denominations consider to be the Word of God, there is only One Divine God Creator, namely the Elohim Hashem Jehovah, God of Israel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

