what we can learn about our Creator from james dashner’s the maze runner

If you’ve read my review of The Maze Runner, you’ll know I’m a dystopian junky. To some level we all are. Our world is dystopic and has been since the Fall (remember Genesis 3?). Yet God’s church is present on earth so our society isn’t as dystopic as it could be. Certainly not as horrible as what we find in The Maze Runner.

A group of ~40 teenage boys (13-18) live in the center of a giant maze. Every day the Runners search for a way out while the rest see to the needs of the community. What’s apparent early in the book is that the maze was created by someone for some purpose. The boys are not left to their own devices, but instead are given the supplies they need to survive, as long as they take the initiative to grow and prepare their own food.

What kind of being(s) would create such a place for boys to live? In one case, we can argue that the maze’s creators are kind because they give the boys what they need to survive. At the same time, they are aloof because they never come into contact with their creation, other than the little robots they have for observation, and the monsters that reside in the maze.

Oh wait, that’s right. The maze creators put monsters in the maze. So are they still kind? Or are monsters some sort of necessary evil?

What dawned on me while I was reading this book was creation points back to its Creator. When I look at the world and see the beauty and majesty of nature, the stars, moon, sun in the sky, the love of parents for their offspring, and the compassion that some have for their fellow man, I see glimpses of God. I’m glad that He is not the type of God who would put us in an unsolvable maze surrounded by monsters, aren’t you?

Some would argue that God has surrounded us with monsters as well. There is evil in the world and scary creatures in nature. Humans can be some of the scariest. But God has given us the capability to control our surroundings and the choice of how we will live. We can follow the Creator’s rules and run a good race (1 Corinthians 9:24, 2 Timothy 4:7-8), or we can go our own way and be devoured by the monsters (1 Peter 5:8). Which will you choose?

I realized while writing this that they are making The Maze Runner into a movie which will be released in 2014. What do you think? Are you going to go see it?

One thought on “what we can learn about our Creator from james dashner’s the maze runner

  1. I doubt I will go see the movie. I’ve been finding myself less interested in a lot of Hollywood lately. Plus, after reading your review I went and read a bunch on Amazon for The Maze Runner and its sequels and decided I don’t want to read it.

    Awesome correlation between the book and creation, though. I love when a story can be used to point to God. Your thoughts remind me of that famous quote by Abraham Lincoln: I can see how it might be possible for a man to look down upon the earth and be an atheist, but I cannot conceive how he could look up into the heavens and say there is no God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

