frost burned by patricia briggs

Patricia Briggs is one of those authors whose books I buy when they come out. Period. I’ve read them all, and I enjoyed them all (some more than others). All of her Mercy Thompson books, of which Frost Burned is #7, have been fabulous. Let’s get down to the info on these books and see if they might be something you’d like to read.

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Premise: Mercy Thompson is a shape-shifting half-Indian mechanic. She can change into a coyote at will, which is useful for hunting vampires and getting into lots of trouble (from vampires, the Fae, and other creepy crawly things of legend). She is married to the local alpha werewolf, a drop-dead gorgeous former military guy named Adam. In all the books, either Mercy or Adam get into trouble. In this one, the entire werewolf pack gets kidnapped. Can Mercy find them and help them before it’s too late?

Theology: Seeker

I’d love to know what Patricia Briggs believes when it comes to God. He’s certainly not missing from her novels. One character wonders how a benevolent God could make werewolves. At one point Mercy prays out loud and comments that she had quit worrying who could hear her. Mercy also wears a lamb around her neck (to symbolize Christ), which works against vampires and other evil beings. Don’t get me wrong, the book is NOT Christian. In case you have any doubts, one of the werewolves is homosexual and lives with his life partner. You would never find that in a Christian book, right?

Rating: PG-13

Frost Burned contains sexual innuendos, although in this case the couple is married. Some of her books, this one included, contain references to a past rape scene.

Writing:

I’m an aspiring novelist, so I usually pay close attention when reading novels to see what works and what doesn’t. With this book, I got so caught up in the story that I forgot to pay attention. Patricia Briggs does a great job of writing in first person. She drops just enough detail to paint the world for you without gumming up the action or dialog. And while there is “telling,” it doesn’t bother me one bit in this story. There are some things you just have to know and you can’t show everything.

Star rating: *****

So tell me, have you read any Christian fiction that had homosexual characters? If so, was it handled well or poorly? If not, do you think there should be?

4 thoughts on “frost burned by patricia briggs

  1. This series sounds really interesting. I’m pretty sure I’ve stumbled across it once or twice before but always forgotten to follow up and actually read it.

    Hmm, I don’t think I have read any Christian books with homosexual characters. If I have, it didn’t make much of an impression. As for if it should be, YA especially tends to cover culturally relevant material so I could definitely see including it rather than pretending it doesn’t exist. However, I think homosexuality gets a disproportionate amount of attention in the US (part of the secular agenda to make it “acceptable”) and I would hate to see that happen in Christian fiction, too.

    Like

  2. She also has a duology that I loved – (The Hurog Duology)- Dragon Bones and Dragon Blood. Very different from the Mercy Thompson series. The Dragon series is pure fantasy/magic.

    I agree with you on the disproportionate amount of attention homosexuality is getting. I just don’t like to see the church ignore polarizing issues because they’re afraid to go there. If we don’t stand up for truth, who will? (Although I do NOT plan to write a book featuring homosexuals, so I’m not one to talk, am I?). 😀

    Like

  3. There is some kind of Christian series for preteen girls that I think touches on it. It’s a series where each book is a different color – the covers are white with colorful stripes? I’ll have to go find what I’m talking about… found it! TrueColors series by Melody Carlson #10, Bright Purple: Color Me Confused is about a girl whose best friend confides in her that she is a lesbian. She’s shocked, confused and condemning but eventually she “begins to discover the truth of what it means to love people the way Jesus did.” I haven’t read any of the series but it’s one I plan to check out before my daughter gets to that age

    Like

Leave a Reply

