merlin’s blade by robert treskillard

I don’t know if you’re like me, but as a kid I was totally into Arthurian legend. The movie Excalibur, The Once and Future King by T.H. White, The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, and my favorite at the time, the series by Mary Stewart (Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills, The Last Enchantment, and The Wicked Day). So trust me when I tell you that Merlin’s Blade is the best of all of these.

From the moment you begin reading Merlin’s Blade, you know that you are in the hands of an expert, so you can relax and let the story unfold. Merlin’s Blade is all about Merlin’s backstory. Where did he come from? Who were his parents? How did he become legend? How did he get involved with King Arthur? Not all of these questions are answered in the story, but some are and the rest are set up to be answered in the series.

In Merlin’s Blade, we find Merlin as a severely sight-challenged son of a local blacksmith, growing up in a remote village that is at the front line in the battle between Christianity and druid paganism. Merlin is an unlikely hero since he’s mostly blind, but he must find a way to free the villagers from pagan influence before all of Briton is ensnared. Unfortunately for Merlin, in addition to being kind and Christian, he’s also a wolf magnet.

Theme/Theology: Prevenient grace, Christ’s sufficiency, importance of prayer

The village people discount Merlin because he’s blind, but in the course of the story, blindness becomes an advantage for Merlin. So, while (evil) wolves attacked him and took his eyesight, God used for good what others intended for evil. (Genesis 50:20)

In addition to Merlin, who can’t do many things because of his eyesight, the few Christians in the village who remain true to God are hopelessly outnumbered by the druidow (druids) and their object of power. Yet, in their weakness we see Christ’s strength (2 Cor 9-10), and the unlocking of that strength through prayer.

Rating: G

Merlin’s Blade does contain fighting scenes and death, but they are not graphically described.

Social Issues:

Political corruption, religious persecution, the danger with religious tolerance, betrayal

Merlin’s Blade is the best book I have read so far this year. It’s on sale right now at Amazon for $1.99, but I don’t know for how long. (http://www.amazon.com/Merlins-Blade-Merlin-Spiral-ebook/dp/B00BS9ESUU/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1373864427&sr=1-1&keywords=merlin%27s+blade)

Were/Are you a King Arthur fan like me? Which books or movies did you like best?

 

8 thoughts on “merlin’s blade by robert treskillard

  1. I’ve never been too crazy about Arthurian legend though I have read a few that touched on it. “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court” for one. And I thought it was pretty neat how C.S.Lewis incorporated Arthurian legend into the last of his space trilogy. My husband, on the other hand, just loves it and reads everything he can find on it including the Lawhead books. But if this is the best book you’ve read this year, we’ll both definitely have to read it. I’ll have to check if it will eventually be released in audiobook. Hubby prefers audio books that he can listen to on his daily commute (whereas I am visual and cannot follow an audio book for the life of me.)

    Like

  2. SoE: I like audio books if I have to drive a lot. They keep me awake (which is a good thing). I think I read A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court a million years ago. I don’t remember a thing about it. I haven’t read CS Lewis’s space trilogy, but I want to. Robert Treskillard has kindly agreed to be interviewed, so there will be a chance for you to win a copy of Merlin’s Blade in the future. (Yay!) 😀

    Like

    1. I haven’t read A Connecticut Yankee in forever either. All I really remember is being very sad & maybe even crying at the end. I don’t think it had the mystically reunited ending like the movie version with Bing Crosby added… Lewis’ space trilogy is pretty neat. The science fiction is a bit dated now but the theological aspects are just as true today. My favorite of the three is Perelandra.

      As for Merlin’s Blade, I decided to jump on the Amazon sale and grabbed a copy. Now I just have to decide if I want to root my nook now (I was waiting till October when my warranty expires) so I can add the Kindle app or convert the ebook for my nook. Choices, choices… 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

