author spotlight and giveaway: the intriguing jill williamson

In the nine months since this blog has been created, my favorite thing about it has been interviewing authors about their books and getting to share them with you. Jill is the 7th author I’ve had the pleasure to interview so far. By now you know I don’t just interview anyone. I only choose people whose books I am excited about, and Jill’s books are no exception. If you aren’t familiar with her fiction, check out the reviews of Replication and Captives.

So without further ado, put your hands together for our special guest, Ms. Jill Williamson…

Hi, Jill! Thanks for stopping by today. The first question we ask all our author friends is whether you consider yourself a Christian author or author of Christian fiction? What do you think the difference is?

I consider myself an author who is a Christian. The difference is that there are some authors who write for a Christian audience and some who write for a general audience. I don’t set out to write books that are for Christians only. Some of my books appeal to Christians more than others. And, as with any author, my worldview comes out in what I write. But I always strive to write entertaining stories that are real that teen readers will enjoy.

Let’s talk first about your newest book, Captives. How did you come to write a dystopian novel? Have you always been a dystopian fan?

I’m not really a fan of dystopian. I loved The Giver years ago. And I enjoyed The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, Matched, Delerium. I came up with the idea for this book during my ladies’ Bible study at my church. We were doing Beth Moore’s study on Daniel. And Beth asked us to think about how teenage boys we knew might cope if taken captive into a Babylon-type place like Daniel and the other young royals. And so the idea was born for Captives.

Captives was a fantastic read but now I have to wait for the next in the series. When will that be coming out and how many more can we expect from the Safe Lands?

Outcasts comes out in November of this year. And there will be three books. I don’t have an official release date for book three, but I’m guessing spring 2014.

Another book of yours I’ve read is Replication: The Jason Experiment. I’m a genetics geek, so I really enjoyed this one too. Can we expect to see more of Jason and Abby? I hope so, because you dropped some intriguing information I’d like to know more about.

I’d like to write the sequels to Replication, but I don’t know what will happen with my publisher.

How did you become interested in YA fiction (writing or reading)?

My husband is a youth pastor, and I was reading the books the girls in my youth group were reading. I loved some of those books. And I hated some of them too. So I was inspired to try and write books for teens that didn’t ignore the existence of God.

What is one thing you’d like your readers to know?

That Captivesis on a special ebook promotion right now. (I have no idea how long it will last.) But if you’re interested in the book, you should be able to get it for $2.99.

http://www.amazon.com/Captives-Safe-Lands-The-ebook/dp/B008EGV6LO/ref=tmm_kin_title_0

And before you go, can you tell us what you’re working on now?

I’m working on finishing up Spencer and The Mission League stories and the last Captives book. And I’ve also been brainstorming another epic fantasy. I miss it, and want to write more in that genre. So, hopefully, epic fantasy will be my next big project.

Thanks, Jill! I have two of your Mission League stories on my to-read list. 

If you want to follow Jill or keep updated on what she’s writing, you can find her at the links below:

Jill’s website: http://www.jillwilliamson.com/

Jill’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jwilliamsonwrites

Jill’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/JillWilliamson

And now for our contest. I’m giving away a paperback copy of Captives to one lucky winner, and a Jill Williamson e-book of your choice. I’m experimenting with a new widget to select contest winners. If it works, you’ll be seeing it more in the future. You can get your name in the drawing up to three times: once for entering (required), once for liking my FB page, and once for commenting on this blog post. Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

Click this link for the giveaway (you’ll be directed to the Rafflecopter site): a Rafflecopter giveaway. If you have a problem, let me know in the comments on this blog. Thanks!

8 thoughts on “author spotlight and giveaway: the intriguing jill williamson

  1. I’m reading The New Recruit and love it! Great characters & details which are my favorite parts of books. Yes, I LIKE intrigue and excitement but LOVE comes in the description.

    Like

  2. I heard about this giveaway because I follow your blog. And facebook. 😀
    I haven’t read any of Jill’s books yet but I have had The New Recruit on my radar for a while and I got a copy of By Darkness Hid when it was on a free promotion a while back. And your review of Replication had me very intrigued. My reading backlog is quite backed up but her books are at the top of the list!

    Like

  3. I heard about this giveaway on fb. I have just a few pages left in the book I’m currently reading and then I can start on Jill’s book The New Recruit on my Kindle. I’m so excited! I hope I win!!!

    Like

  4. Fantastic blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring
    writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any recommendations? Thanks a lot!

    Like

    1. I started and still use the free version of WordPress.com (although I have paid for some upgrades now). There is a learning curve with WordPress, but their online instructions are very good. If you are a least moderately good with a computer, you should do fine. The other one you could try is Blogger. That is a bit simpler to use than WordPress, but doesn’t have as many options. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

