captives by jill williamson

A Christian dystopian novel? Is that an oxymoron? While it might be an oxymoron, the book is for real, and really good.

Captives, the first in Jill Williamson’s Safe Lands series, is set in the near future (year 2088). The population has been decimated by a water-borne pandemic and the remnants of society have clustered together near safe water sources. The Safe Lands is a bell-shaped walled city that serves to keep its population in and dissenters out. The only problem (well, not the only problem) is that the Safe Land population can no longer reproduce. They have succumbed to a blood-borne version of the pandemic virus and they are all dying. The only chance they have at survival is to find non-infected individuals who can produce healthy babies. And they don’t have to look far, because there’s groups of them living right outside their formidable walls.

It’s the same, but it’s different

I’ve read a lot of dystopian novels. There’s something compelling about watching governmental choices go badly wrong, and that’s what you get when you read dystopian fiction. Better to read it than live it. It’s fun to speculate at a distance.

The problem with dystopias is that they have a tendency to repeat themes/situations. After a while, you feel like if you’ve read one, you’ve read them all. Especially now that The Hunger Games is so popular, Suzanne Collin’s books have become the litmus against which all dystopias are measured.

I can tell you, Captives bears little resemblance to The Hunger Games. The only thing that’s similar is the Safe Lands is a lot like the Capital. The same air of permissability and worship of leisure.

Having it’s basis on a pandemic/virus is a similar premise to the movie Thirteen Monkeys, and the books Wither (Chemical Garden series), and Bumped/Thumped (click links for my reviews).

Where this series diverges is in writing. Captives has a large cast of characters, instead of one main character through which the story is filtered (Wither,  Hunger Games, Divergent). So there’s a lot more going on in Captives than your normal dystopian teen novel, which is reflected in the page count: 415 pages! Although, that’s 415 pages you won’t want to put down.

Theme/Theology:

Captives is loosely based on the book of Daniel, with the Safe Lands representing Babylon and their dying inhabitants (unsaved). Levi and his crew are from the village of Glenrock. They are disease free believers.

The theological question the book ponders is especially relevant to today: Can a believer hold on to his beliefs in the face of cultural permissiveness? Because the book has many characters, this question is approached from several angles.

Rating: PG-13 for subject matter

Artificial insemination- it’s not described, but it is alluded to, along with specimen collection. Safe Land society also features drinking, drugging, and partnering (think life in the US during the 70’s but with better technology).

Social Issues:

We have a character that wants so badly to fit in that he places his own needs before those of his friends and family.

We have a character that struggles between wanting to help the Safe Lands society and the wisdom behind doing so.

We have a character who needs to be a leader, but must get past his own anger to become mature enough to do the job.

We have a character who thinks she is ugly and must find her own inner beauty.

This is the second book I have read by Jill Williamson, and I can recommend both (Replication is reviewed here).

What’s your take on dystopian fiction? 

5 thoughts on “captives by jill williamson

  1. I just snapped this up a few days ago. I just started Jill’s The Recruit. I like dystopian novels, especially if there’s hope at the end. That it’s from a Christian POV makes it more appealing to me.

    Like

    1. And guess what? She’s going to be here on the blog on Thursday!!! And we’ll be giving away some of her books…Tell all your friends. Wait– your friends are my friends. LOL

      Like

  2. Dystopians don’t interest me very often. I like the idea behind them but they all feel somewhat the same to me – especially lately since they seem to be the latest fad. I love world-building and cultures and so that aspect is what tends to draw me to dystopians. But I don’t like them to be too repressive or depressing (looking at you, “The Giver”). lol The premise for Captives sounds interesting but being based on Daniel (one of my favorite Bible stories) makes me really want to read it. 🙂

    Like

  3. They can be the same, and some are really depressing (Wither, The Giver). And Daniel is one of my faves too. I just enjoy the premise around the stories, as long as it’s not the same premise…

    Like

  4. Lisa,

    I enjoyed reading this book and I’m looking forward to Book 2 in the series.

    I don’t if you read the review I posted on my blog about The Captives.

    http://kammbia1.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/book-review-39-captives-safe-lands-1-by-jill-williamson/

    I usually don’t read YA. But this is the second YA Novel I’ve read and reviewed for the blog. The Book Thief is the other one. I guess I’m becoming more of a fan of this genre. LOL!!

    Good review.

    Marion

    Like

Leave a Reply

