legends of zita the spacegirl by ben hatke

Another graphic novel review. Legends of Zita the Spacegirl is the second in the Zita the Spacegirl series. The first, Zita the Spacegirl, was a 2012-13 Bluebonnet nominee, and the winner at my daughters’ school.

I enjoyed Legends of Zita as much, if not more, than the original. The characters are fun and endearing, and the graphic art does a great job of adding subtext to the story. I won’t claim that I enjoy graphic novels as much as written novels, quite the opposite. I would love to read a Zita the Spacegirl novel, although I would miss the pictures of the characters so it would have to be an illustrated novel. 😉

Theme/Theology: Self-sacrifice

In Zita the Spacegirl, Zita’s reckless actions cause her and a friend to be trapped on a planet that is about to be destroyed. Zita finally takes responsibility for her actions and sends her friend back home (only one could go), leaving her trapped far away from home.

In the Legends of Zita, Zita is trying to get home and she’s growing tired of her super-hero popularity. A robot impersonates Zita and places a whole planet, Zita, and her friends at risk. Once again, a reckless disregard for rules lands Zita and her friend Mouse in trouble, this time with planetary authorities. Someone else besides Zita has to sacrifice themselves to save the planet, leaving Zita to deal with the consequences of her rule breaking.

Rating: G

Social Issues:

Breaking the rules, respect for authority.

This is a fantastic series and I don’t mind saying that I’m a fan.

Did you read comics as a kid? If so, which ones?

4 thoughts on “legends of zita the spacegirl by ben hatke

  1. That sounds like a great series and I love that it teaches responsibility and respect for authority. I remember strongly that what first addicted me to reading in 2nd & 3rd grade was my parent’s Peanut comic collection. They had several treasuries and I consumed them repeatedly. (I remember learning the word Phony from a comic where Linus was scolding a croquet ball, though I don’t remember why.)

    Later, my family discovered Calvin & Hobbes. I remember all of us being in shock when Watterson retired. Then I discovered FoxTrot & Rose is Rose. So I guess my discovery of manga in college was just the next step in the progression. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

