a wrinkle in time by madeleine l’engle

A Wrinkle in Time has been in print for longer than I have been alive. I read it when I was in 5th grade and loved the series. I remember doing a book report on the 3rd book, A Swiftly Tilting Planet. My presentation of the novel confused my classmates and teachers and didn’t do justice to Ms. L’Engle’s work. J

I have tried to go back and read books as an adult that I loved as a child and the results have been mixed. There are some books, such as this one, that are rich in story and writing and will appeal to both audiences. There are some that don’t translate well across the ages. I very much enjoyed  renewing my acquaintance with Mrs Who, Mrs Whatsit, and Mrs Which. If you haven’t read this wonderful book, what are you waiting for?

Theme/Theology:  Good vs. Evil, Light vs. Dark, God vs. IT

A Wrinkle in Time was written back before people realized that you could only talk about God in Christian fiction.  In fact, it won many awards including the Newbery Medal. The book has a rich theology including scriptural references to Isaiah 42:10-12, 1 Corinthians 1:25-28, and John 1:5 and overt references to Jesus. Imagine!

A Wrinkle in Time looks metaphorically at faith versus intelligence, and the dangers of conforming to society. Love wins out in the end when the main character is able to accept responsibility for her actions and put off her own selfish desires.

While there is magic of sorts in the book and it is mainly science fiction, even the most stringent critics against this genre would have a hard time finding anything objectionable in this book. It is so God-honoring and written from a strong Christian worldview.

Rating: G

Great for middle grade readers and older. Even adults will grin at the characters in this book. Pick up a copy and read it with your kids.

Social issues:

Fitting in, the dangers of conformity, having a selfless attitude, taking responsibility for your own actions, judging people by who they are on the inside and not how they look

What was your favorite book when you were in elementary school? Have you reread it as an adult?

9 thoughts on “a wrinkle in time by madeleine l’engle

  1. I love A Wrinkle in Time!!!! One of my favorites, ever :).

    Also among my faves from elementary school years:
    Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH
    The Phantom Tollbooth
    Island of the Blue Dolphins

    Like

  2. I loved this book, too, but idn’t discover it until I had kids of my own. I read it to them, and we all fell in love with Charles Wallace, Fortinbras (we own Newfoundlands and we are convinced that he is a Newf) and Meg. Great adventure, and you featured it so nicely!

    Like

  3. “A Wrinkle in Time” as well as “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” were options to read in my 5th grade class. I chose a “Wrinkle in Time” but fake read it. Back then, I hated anything science fiction or fantasy. Now I love it! Of course, I also fake read “Eight Cousins” by Louisa May Alcott and it was exactly my kind of story. Back then, I was a voracious reader but liked to read for pleasure not as “work.” Now, I love reading and discussing books.

    Like

  4. Good morning, ladies!

    Kat ~ I have Phantom Tollbooth on my bookshelf to read. I’ve never read it and I’m not sure how I missed it.

    Gretchen ~ I’ve never heard of Eight Cousins, but I’ve been debating going back and reading Little Women again.

    Kathleen ~ Who doesn’t love Charles Wallace? 😉

    Like

  5. Lisa,

    I will have to read Wrinkle in Time one of these days. It’s one of those books I have seen over the years and for some reason have not read it.

    Thanks for the review and the reminder.

    Marion

    Like

      1. Lisa,

        I will review it for the blog when I read it. I’m currently reading The Captives by Jill Williamson. It’s a YA novel…which is right down your alley. I like it so far.

        Like

  6. I absolutely loved “A Wrinkle in Time” when I read it as a teen. I even read it aloud to my siblings since I had enjoyed it so much. And I hunted for the sequels but the library didn’t have any. So I researched online and what I found about L’Engle’s theology scared me off so I ended up avoiding the rest of her books and never could bring myself to read it again. I should pick it up now. It’d be interesting to read from an adult perspective after all these years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

