the muse by fred warren

Parts of The Muse reminded me of an old Stephen King story, The Library Policeman. I had to stop reading Stephen King after Misery because most of his books are too scary for me. Thankfully, The Muse was entertaining and thought provoking without the side of fear.

Fred Warren’s book is about a small writer’s group that is befriended by a helpful editor. Suddenly, strange things begin to happen to each member. At first good, then troubling, then scary, the friends try to figure out what is happening and whether it has any connection to their newest group member.

Theology: All good things are from God

The Muse is a good vs. evil type of book, except it’s more subtle and realistic. Sometimes we don’t recognize the good from the bad because the bad is disguised as something that we desperately want, or it’s not overtly bad at first glance. Our enemy knows our deepest desires and seeks to exploit them. So once you’ve been exploited, what then? In real life, we need to repent and turn to God. In this story, well…you have to read it to find out.

Rating: PG

While this book is free of profanity, sex, and adult themes it might be scary for younger readers. Then again, it might not. In general, anyone who is mature enough to read the book is old enough to enjoy it.

Social Issues:

In the afterword to the book, Fred Warren writes, “This story is about inspiration–its meaning, origins, and purpose. It also explores the idea that there’s more than one kind of inspiration, and it’s important to understand the source, nature, and ultimate effects of the creative energy we’re using.” The Muse is a creative adaptation of spiritual warfare.

I enjoyed this book and plan to read the rest in this series. Have you read it? What did you think?

6 thoughts on “the muse by fred warren

  1. This is the book that led me to my publisher. I had read some of Fred Warren’s short stories in online magazines and loved his writing. So I bought the book and loved it, too! I read it on a day where everything seemed to be going wrong and it cheered me up completely :).

    BTW–this cover is actually revamped from the original, and I had the privilege of drawing the sword that stands in for the T.

    Like

    1. How ironic. Finding Angel (and you) is what allowed me to find Splashdown Books. 🙂 I think this book is great for authors especially. I love that Fred wrote a book about the creative process.

      And you are very creative. I can’t draw to save my life. 😦 Although I’m fantastic at stick figures.

      Like

  2. Thanks for the review, Lisa. I’m glad you enjoyed The Muse. Inspiration is something I continually struggle with as a writer, and the story reflects some of that, particularly my tendency to miss the inspiration that’s been there all along, right in front of my nose. It seems that’s where God usually puts it.

    And if I had a fraction of Kat’s creativity, I’d be formidable indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

