alone yet not alone by tracy leininger craven

Is anyone else as fascinated with Indian lore as I am? This based-on-a-true-story book takes place during the Penn’s Creek Massacre of 1755 during the French and Indian war. Alone Yet Not Alone is the survival story of three girls who are captured by Indians and their quest to return to their families. It is also the story of the author’s, Tracy Leininger Craven’s, family.

Theology: God is always with you

The theme of Alone Yet Not Alone is based on Deuteronomy 8:2 “Remember how the Lord your God led you through the wilderness for these forty years, humbling you and testing you to prove your character, and to find out whether or not you would obey his commands.” (NLT)

Even during impossible, horrible situations when it feels like God has forsaken us, He is still faithful. He can take what others meant for evil and change it to our good (Genesis 50:20). Our job is to remember His promise and focus on Him.

Rating: PG

I debated giving this book a G rating. There is nothing gratuitous in Alone Yet Not Alone, but it deals with real life. There is violence and murder (well handled) and children are forcibly kidnapped. So I will leave it to your discretion. I plan to let my 8 yo daughter read the book. I like that it is historical and faith based.

Social Issues:

Set in the late 1700’s, the social issues are pertinent to that time. The Leininger family immigrated to the US from Germany to flee religious prosecution. Their children were biblically well-grounded, so when the girls were kidnapped, they had verses of Scripture hidden in their hearts. I think that’s what I loved best about the book. We take for granted the ease at which we can refer to God’s Word (at least I do). I have several Bibles and I can easily access almost any version on my phone or computer. But what would happen if I couldn’t just pick up the Bible and read it? I would wish I had hidden more Scripture in my heart.

A word to my writer friends and discerning readers:

This book is mostly telling with little showing. It would have been so much better if the scenes were played out to the best of the author’s imagination instead of reading like a history text. I don’t think it will bother a young reader, but I noticed the lapse and wished for more creativity in the writing.

The book is being made into a movie, which should solve the showing/telling issues. Movies have to be more showing than telling by nature. 🙂 You can view the trailer at the movie website: http://www.aloneyetnotalone.com/

2 thoughts on “alone yet not alone by tracy leininger craven

  1. I used to love books like this but I burned out on them in my midteens. Calico Captive by Elizabeth George Speare. There’s another horrible one that’s a “classic” – I can’t even remember the name right this second & everyone always loves it but I just hated it and I think most everyone died, too? And there was one (I’ll have to text my sister if she remembers the name – something like Comancheria or similar) about a Spanish teen and his younger brother that are captured and his brother is so young he forgets his life before. This one sounds better than the others in that it has the Christian perspective. The others are so sad and despairing, even if they do end up eventually rescued or contentedly staying.

    Another Christian series that also got movies (though not quite the same topic) is the Mandie books. Have you heard of them? My sisters & I loved those when we were in grade school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

