out of my mind by sharon draper

What if you couldn’t speak? couldn’t move? What if everyone that knew you thought you were brainless?

Such is the life for 11-year-old Melody. Born with cerebral palsy, she is trapped inside her mind with no way to communicate even though she has a photographic memory and is a child prodigy. We see life through Melody’s eyes as she struggles to communicate with the world around her.

This book was a Bluebonnet Ward nominee for 2011-2012. While it didn’t win, it’s a great book. It challenges the way you look at the people around you.

Theology: The Least of These

Melody doesn’t spend much time wondering why she is like she is. I don’t think there was a “why did you do this to me, God?” moment. Sure, she wishes she was like other kids, but the book is spent more dealing with her daily life and how to get to the next level.

The theme is basically “you can’t judge a book by its cover.” People are defined by who they are on the inside, not about how they look or what they can/can’t do. It’s a wake-up call for all of us–how often do we overlook the good in people based on their appearance? How often do we take the time to get to know someone who might not look appealing?

Then the King will say, ’I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me-you did it to me.’ ~Matthew 25:40 (MSG)

Rating: G

No adult themes but a hearty dose of reality. Life is not easy.

Social Issues:

The good, the bad, and the ugly of school teachers, parents, and peers dealing with people with disabilities.

4 thoughts on “out of my mind by sharon draper

  1. OK, too weird. I was at the library today, in their area where they sell used books, and I was looking at this very book! I didn’t buy it, though–I opted for one about dragons–but it did interest me. Hm, I’ll have to keep it in mind next time I go…

    Like

Leave a Reply

