the blue sword by robin mckinley

For the first time in quite a while, I’m not reading any fiction books. Oh, I’m reading…just not fiction. Nothing, well…um…fun. So I thought I would take this opportunity to share my favorite fiction book of all time. Its the one I go back and read (usually about once a year) just because…

This is a Newberry Honor book from 1983. I don’t remember how I came to read it, I probably checked it out of the school library based on the cover (which used to be much cooler). Actually, strike that. I probably bought it at a bookstore based on the cover. Because I still have this worn out paperback copy.

I remember the first time I read the book that I thought it was going to be a snoozer because the first chapter contains quite a bit about the heroine and her thoughts on orange juice. But it quickly picks up when a strange desert king comes on the scene and ends up kidnapping Harry (our heroine).

I remember wishing that I could be Harry, swept up into some fantastic adventure involving magic and swords (the horses are cool too). That’s why I read fantasy then and while I still read it now. The yearning for adventure and for there to be more to me than meets the eye.

Now that I’ve read the book at least twenty times and my thoughts on life, adventure, swords, and magic have changed as I’ve ‘matured’, I realized that the book isn’t too different from the Christian walk. Yearning after fantasy is just another way of yearning after God. After all, He is supernatural. And He has called each of us to our own adventure. All books, in one way or another, epitomize the fight between good and evil. The fantasy genre is just able to show the supernatural side of the battle a bit more clearly. The adventure is living in the moment and trusting God to show you your next step. Our blue flaming sword is prayer. Faith is the magic to move mountains, or to drop them on the bad guys at just the right time.

Of course, this isn’t a Christian novel, nor was it meant to be. It’s just a story written by someone who touched my soul.

What about you? What is your favorite book of all time? The one you’ve read more than any other?

 

3 thoughts on “the blue sword by robin mckinley

  1. The one I’ve read more than any other… Um… I reread many of my books so often – especially back in middle school & high school. I don’t know about other people, but I frequently feel a book calling me. Like, I want to read but I don’t know which book. So I pour over my shelves until my eye settles on the specific book that was using ESP to my brain, “read me! read me!”

    The Narnia Series for one – I was given a set in 3rd grade and had to use packing tape to repair most of them back in high school. They are falling apart but I love, love, love the covers so cannot replace them. Plus they have names and dates inside the front covers – my mother and I took turns reading them when I was in elementary school. They had promised me an Aslan shirt when I finished the series so we documented every time we finished one. Never did get that shirt but they got me addicted to reading – parents are sneaky like that. 😉

    I used to reread Young Pilgrim’s Progress and I still enjoy The Trumpet of the Swan every now and then. They are books I look forward to sharing with my daughter as she gets older. Oh – and The Bronze Bow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

